find_photog join_asmp join_asmp

Press Release

May 17, 2010


Peter Dyson, Communication Director
American Society of Media Photographers
Phone: 215 451 2767


ASMP's Mopsik Receives IPC Photographer Leadership Award

Philadelphia, PA... The American Society of Media Photographers (ASMP) has announced that its Executive Director, Eugene Mopsik, has received the 2010 International Photographic Council (IPC) Photographer Leadership Award, selected by the association as the member who best represents the group's criteria and ideals. Mopsik is one of six winners being recognized at the IPC's 12th annual awards luncheon held at the United Nations on May 20th.


According to ASMP President Richard Kelly, "Gene has a long and distinguished history of advocacy for photographers and he is a thought leader in the profession. His in-depth professional photography experience and considerable business acumen have made Gene invaluable as a leader for our organization and its members in current issues such as copyright registration of images, social media terms of service, and orphan works."


Mopsik, who has been ASMP's Executive Director since 2003, has overseen the Society's largest membership growth, as well as the expansion of its industry influence and legislative impact. As an active ASMP member, Gene has served on ASMP's board in a number of capacities, including a term as its President in 2000/01.


During Mopsik's tenure as Executive Director, he has engaged in discussions with the Nielsen Corp., Getty Images, and the New York Times regarding their new freelance contracts, and he has worked to create new agreements between photographers and the American Institute of Architects (AIA) regarding the rights to images submitted for various AIA competitions. He has championed ASMP's highly acclaimed Strictly Business series programming and was instrumental in developing ASMP's relationship with the Author's Coalition of America (ACA), whose funding allows ASMP to provide industry-wide education and advocacy. He has also been active in the creation of strategy for Congressional discussions related to Orphan Works legislation, and in the opposition to the proposed Google Settlement initiated by the Author's Guild and the Association of American Publishers.


Mopsik currently serves on the boards of the Copyright Alliance, the PLUS (Picture Licensing Universal System) Coalition and the Eddie Adams Workshop, and on the Advisory Board of the Young Photographers Alliance (YPA). Prior to his position at ASMP, his career was as a successful Philadelphia corporate/industrial photographer since graduation from the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania with a Bachelor of Science in Economics degree.


Photographer Leadership Awards are presented each May, which is International Professional Photographer Month, by the IPC, a non-governmental organization (NGO) of the United Nations which promotes world peace through photography. Winners were selected by ASMP and five other professional photography organizations and include: Jim McHugh, Advertising Photographers of America (APA); Dennis Craft, Professional Photographers of America (PPA); James Pool, Professional School Photographers Association International (PSPA); Jon Elswick, White House News Photographers Association (WHNPA); and Andy Marcus, Wedding & Portrait Photographers International (WPPI).


ASMP is the leader in promoting photographers' rights, providing education in better business practices, producing business publications for photographers, and helping to connect purchasers with professional photographers. Founded in 1944, ASMP has over 6,000 members and 39 chapters across the country, and its members include many of the world's foremost photographers.